This year the 42nd Navy Cup final will take place at Burnaby Road, the home of Navy Rugby on Wednesday 12th December 2012 Kick-off 7pm. The challenge for this year's title will be battled out between HMNB Portsmouth and HMS Seahawk.

HMS Seahawk are the current holders of the trophy having won last year in the final against HMS Sultan. Within the history of the competition HMNB Portsmouth has won the Cup three times and will be seeking a forth. Whereas, HMS Seahawk have previously won the cup twice and are now looking for their third victory. (HMNB Portsmouth formally known as HMS Nelson)

The Rectory, home to Devonport Services witnessed the Western region Semi final match between HMNB Devonport and HMS Seahawk. Even with a last minute try by HMNB Devonport couldn't prevent HMS Seahawk winning 29-10.

The Eastern region Semi final match saw HMNB Portsmouth at home to last year's finalist HMS Sultan. Thou proving a clash to the final whistle, HMNB Portsmouth received the unexpected win 17-14.

The Navy Cup competition was first competed for back in 1972 which saw the forma HMS Ark Royal, the only ship ever to win the Navy Cup.

Gates open at 5.45pm with free admission and bar facilities, please note there are no parking facilities available at USSG Portsmouth.

HMS Seahawk will have at Scrum Half POAET Dave Pascoe the current RN Senior XV Captain

Photo copyright of Mr Paul McCabe