ROYAL NAVY LOOKS TO THE FUTURE FOR THE 2009 BABCOCK COMMONWEALTH CUP A variety of injuries, career courses and operational deployments mean that 12 capped players are unavailable for the Royal Navy squad to take on the Southern Hemisphere in the Babcock Commonwealth Cup. However, this has presented the Royal Navy Director of Rugby, Geraint Ashton Jones and New Head Coach, Billy May with a real opportunity to select 9 players from the under 23s for the RN Squad. The youngest of these is fly half Dom Griffen at just 18 years old, and 20 year old prop Mark Jones who have both shown that they have the skills and ability to play at this level. The Australians and New Zealanders will recognise some of the faces they lined up against in New Zealand in 2003 and again in South Africa in 2006. The RN squad is captained by POAET Dave Pascoe who is taking part in his 4th Commonwealth Cup, having represented the Royal Navy in each of the competing countries: Australia in 2000, New Zealand in 2003 and South Africa in 2006. He knows only too well how tough a competition this is and he will undoubtedly lead his team from the front as usual. RN players are drawn from all the Navy Commands, with the biggest contingent (11) coming from the Royal Marines. The squad also includes 7 players who have been released from very busy ships, 1 from a Submarine, 5 from the Fleet Air Arm and 2 Officer Cadets who are still under training at BRNC Dartmouth. The support of Commanding Officers and colleagues is essential in ensuring that players are released to take part in this prestigious competition and is, as always, greatly appreciated. Although a young-looking squad, there is a good mix of youth and experience, with some wise old heads providing that essential balance to the team. Marsh Cormack is set to take charge of the lineout and some strong runs from Gaz Evans and Greg Bardon should always be expected by their Australian and New Zealand opponents. Captain POAET Dave Pascoe Vice Captain Cpl Greg Barden Vice Captain LAET Marsh Cormack O/Cdt Tom Blackburn Lt Will Blackett RN Logs CS Silvenusi Buinimasi AB Will Cairns SLt Niall Copeland RN Cpl Gaz Evans Capt Tom Evans-Jones RM O/Cdt Ed Gaught Lt Tom Glover RM Lt Roger Green RN AB Dom Griffen Mne Aaron Humphries POET(WE) Wayne John ETME Mark Jones Mne Tristan Lark Mne Scott Llewellyn Mne Rob Lloyd AB Kev Macrossan NA(AH) Kyle Mason Capt Stuart McClaren RM Mne Kieron Morton AB(WS) Marc Roberts ETME Dale Sleeman POET(WE) Dale Smallbone SLt Dale Smith RN Mne Jonny Stephen AET Lewis Taylor Details of the squad are on the Commonwealth Cup page