The RN Senior XV were to begin there build-up to the 2013 Inter Service Championship with a trip to Iffley Rd the home of Oxford University on Wed. However, due to the condition of the pitch in Oxford and the willingness of both teams to make this fixture, it was agreed to move it to Burnaby Road, Portsmouth.

Back on home soil, the RN Senior XV hope's to emulate last season's 10-0 victory over the ‘Dark Blue's'. However, the squad are well aware that it is always going to be a challenging encounter when playing the ‘Dark Blues' and another closely fought game is expected.

The Senior XV will have a mixture of ‘Old Head's' in the form of POAET (Dave) Pascoe (771 NAS) and (Marsh) Cormack (RNAS Culdrose) as well as London Welsh Premiership player Sgt (Gaz) Evans (HMS President). They will be on-hand to support the 5 new players for whom it will be the first time pulling on a Navy Senior XV shirt.

New Head Coach POAET (Owen) Salmon stated "We are looking forward to a physical game that will be played at a high tempo, although weather may dictate tactics."

Salmon went on to say "I will be looking for physicality in defence, a strong breakdown area and ambition in attack. It will be interesting to see how the new boys get on in their first game, they have all settled in quickly during training, but it is a step up for the U23 lads."

Of note is AB (Sam) Davies (HMS Portland) at 13 who only finished Phase II training 2 weeks ago and gets his first start after a good U23 season.


1. NA(AH) K Mason* ** +        HMNB Devonport

2. Capt RM C McCardle            HMS Ocean

3. NA(AH) K Beasley*              RNAS Culdrose

4. CPOAET S Thompson          HMS Sultan

5. POAET M Cormack* **        RNAS Culdrose

6. Mne Fox*                            42 Cdo RM

7. Mne S Raumakita*               42 Cdo RM

8. Sgt G Evans RM* **           HMS President

9. POAET D Pascoe * **         771 NAS

10. Mne J Jones                      42 Cdo RM

11. Sgt L Blackburn RM           RM Poole

12. ET(ME) D Sleeman* **     HMS Raleigh

13. AB S Davies                     HMS Portland

14. NA(AH) A Hunt*               RNAS Culdrose

15. Mne J Marlin* **               42 Cdo RM

16. Lt RN E Gaught                HMS Somerset

17. Mne J Terry                     RM Poole

18. POAET J Court*               RNAS Culdrose

19. ET(WESM) I Cooper*       HMS Collingwood

20. LAET J Clay                    RNAS Yeovilton

21. Logs(SC) B Buinimasi*    HMNB Devonport

22. Mne M Tichias                  42 Cdo RM


*           RN Capped

**         CS Capped

+          International

You can follow the Royal Navy Rugby Union on Twitter @RNRugby