New Year Honours List

The Royal Navy Rugby Union would like to formally express our since congratulations to those members of the Union past and present who were honoured in the Queens New Year Honours List:

Commodore RFA 'Bill' Walworth OBE who is a current serving Vice President

Vice Admiral Tony Johnstone-Burt OBE who is a past Vice President

Surgeon Commander Tony (Doc) Lambert who has been a great servant of not only the Union but Devonport Service Rugby Club and is the main driver behind the Annual Medic's Rugby Challenge which raises funds for the Royal Marines Charitable Trust Fund.

Lieutenant Commander Brian (Grassy) Meadows how has also been a stalwart of Navy Rugby as a player, member of the RN Veterans management team and most recently match day announcer.

In addition, we would like to extend our sincere congratulations to Air Marshal Anderson CB DSO (President of RAF Rugby Union) and Maj Gen Burley MBE (Chairman of Army Rugby Union) for their most deserved recognition in their own respective Service honours lists.

Capt Andy Sanger RE, immediate past DOR of the Army Rugby Union was awarded the MBE.