The night before the Army v Royal Navy fixture the Royal Navy rewarded those who have given a great deal this to Royal Navy Rugby either on the pitch or in support of the teams.

Firstly the RNRU President Vice Admiral P A Jones CB presented the Royal Navy Women with there playing shirts before
presenting The Soapy Watson Memorial Trophy.  This award is presented in memory of former RN Veteran and Senior XV Team Manager WO Soapy Watson, who was also a mainstay of Command and Establishment level rugby. This year's winners were Abbie and Stuart Moyse for their outstanding work in support of the Royal Navy Women's Rugby.  Sadly Stuart is deployed at present so Abbie received the award on behalf of them both as well as received a further award from the Royal Navy Women.

The Royal Navy Mariners were also presented with there playing shirt by their former coach Lt Mick Connolly.  However, this was not his final act as the Mariners have raised an award in his name, the citation was read out by Chairman of the RN Mariners Cdr Andy Phenna.

"The Mike Connolly Award is given to the member of the Royal Navy Mariners Rugby Union Squad who has made the most impact through the season. This player will have shown leadership, commitment and energy in the finest tradition of the over-35's game.

The award is named after one of the longest-serving supporters of Navy Rugby.  Mike Connolly has been involved with the Royal Navy Rugby Union for over six decades, as player, coach and team manager at all levels.  A powerful back-row forward who himself would have been nominated for such a trophy; he has been an inspiration to many throughout the Navy.  

Mike's passionate support for the Mariners, dispelling the myth that ‘Vets rugby is an old man's game', is recognised in the creation of this trophy.

For the 2012/13 season, the Mike Connolly Award winner is C/Sgt Wilf Rees."