The final step towards the Inter Service competition 2018


RN Senior XV


British Police

Harry Collins pulls on the Navy Rugby shirt for the first time this season
Lock, Scott Makepeace had a great game
Huntley had his kicking boots on
Newcomer Wilson made a great start to his Senior Navy Rugby career
Great tackle! British Police get to grips with Welling
Fairbrother back in action

The Royal Navy Rugby Union hosted the British Police at Burnaby Road, Portsmouth in their final warm up match prior to the start of the Inter Service Rugby competition 2018.  With a couple of recent additions to their training camp the Royal Navy ended the evening victorious 43 - 18 and a step away from the start of their Inter Service journey.

Marine Harry Collins and Marine Robbie Wilson both started in the front row, alongside team captain Ben Priddey.  Collins is a veteran of the Royal Navy Senior XV but this year, due to professional commitments, he has not been able to join the training camp until now.  Wilson is new to the Senior XV and came to prominence during the recent Navy Cup competition where his unit team, 40 Commando, reached the final against Her Majesty's Naval Base Clyde.

Meanwhile across the country the Royal Air Force and the Army started their Inter Service competition, meeting at RAF Halton for the first round of the three way competition.  The match was a thrilling one which ended 20 - 19 to the RAF.  This means that the overall winner of the competition could be decided on Friday 20 April when the Royal Navy Senior XV take on the Royal Air Force at the Stoop.  Tickets will be available to purchase on the day from Twickenham Stoop stadium, so do come along and cheer on the teams.

Team list: 1. Mne H Collins, 2. LPT B Priddey (team captain), 3. Mne R Wilson, 4. Musn E Pascoe, 5. AET S Makepeace, 6. Logs S Matavesi, 7. Mne R Vakalutukali, 8. Cpl D Fairbrother, 9. NA C Moore, 10. Mne N Huntley, 11. LAET B Chambers, 12. Mne O Carter, 13. Mne S Raumakita, 14. ETWE E Myers, 15. Mne P Coy Replacements 16. LAET K Beasley, 17. CSgt G Evans, 18. AET C Warner, 19. ABCIS(SM) M Harvey, 20. Cpl B Fox, 21. ETME S Davies, 22. AET G Loydall, 23. AET B Janes 24. AB(D) R Dimmock-Williams 25. Mne G Welling 26. Capt B Cook, 27. Capt O Mason 28. AET T Notman.

Images: Royal Navy Rugby Union © Keith Woodland