Seven tries delight spectators in season opener


RN Senior XV


Oxford University RFC

Team Captain, Priddey scored two tries
In his trademark blue cap, Pascoe performed strongly in the second row
Dimmock-Williams was on form on the left wing
Hayler on his way to scoring the second Navy try

In their first match of the season the Royal Navy Rugby Union Senior XV hosted the students from Oxford University RFC.  Despite the opposition getting the first try, the Royal Navy soon began to dominate, winning the match 42 - 24.

Clever play in the back lines saw the Oxford University team take an early lead however the RN Senior XV Team Captain, Ben Priddey didn't take long to level the score, and with a confident kick from Jon Humphrey, the Navy took the lead 7 - 5.  A second try, this time scored by Jarred Hayler, extended their lead to 14 - 5.  The third Navy try was scored by flanker, Royal Marine Vakalutukali, touched down in the corner for the Navy to go into the break leading 21 - 5.

With a good lead the team management took the opportunity of trying out more of their squad and made some replacements.  The fourth Navy try was scored by replacement Notman, before team captain Priddey scored his second of the evening which was converted by Nathan Huntley to widen the gap 35 - 5.

The Visitors were determined not to go down without a fight and scored their second and third tries of the night in quick succession; both were converted to narrow the scores to 35 - 17.

Not to be outdone, a great piece of interplay between left wing, Rhys Dimmock-Williams and outside centre, Seta Raumakita, carved through the Oxford defence and Seta made the 6th Navy try of the evening, again converted by Huntley, 42 - 17.

There was just time for Oxford to make their fourth try of the game and as the referee blew the whistle the final score read 42 - 24.

It was a positive start to the season for the Royal Navy as they begin their Inter Services campaign 2018.  Next up they travel to Cambridge to take on Cambridge University RFC on Wednesday 14 February, kick off 1930.  

1. K Beasley, 2. B Priddey, 3. C Warner, 4 E Pascoe, 5. S Makepeace, 6. Vakalutukali, 7. J Hayler, 8. B Cook, 9. C Moore, 10. N Huntley, 11. R Dimmock-Williams, 12. G Loydall, 13. S Raumakita, 14. E Myers, 15. J Humphrey, Replacements 16. H Marsh, 17. A Wilman, 18. C Froggley, 19. J Cheshire, 20. D Fairbrother, 21. M Warrick, 22. J Oulton, 23. S Davies, 24. J Basher, 25. T Notman.

Images: Royal Navy Rugby Union © John Walton