Moment of Truth for Women in False Bay


RN Team


False Bay RFC

The Women of the RNRU were victorious in their final game of their tour against strong Cape Town opponents in the form of False Bay RFC.

The game was full of attacking intent combined with strong defence and the Navy Women were determined to show their improvements they’d made throughout the tour. They were rewarded with a try by ET Sian McLaughlin in the first two minutes which set the tone for the rest of the match. Continuous pressure saw a second try on 12mins by LAET Abi Sondack which was successfully converted by AET Chloe Sopp. A lack of concentration at the breakdown allowed the False Bay No 7 to score a try at the 29th minute.

Undeterred by allowing False Bay back into the game, the Navy regained the momentum and secured a third try through a mazy run by Lt Abi Ashby RN. Having enjoyed the vast majority of possession the Navy were worthy of their half time lead 17-5.

False Bay started the second half full of determination and unperturbed by the first half score. Their efforts were rewarded with an early try which brought them to within a converted score. The Navy remained calm under a huge amount of pressure and a huge effort by PO Sam Alderson up the middle brought the tourists their 4th try of the game, increasing the scoreboard to 22-10. The crowd were kept on their toes for the final 10 minutes of the match as  possession constantly flipped between the sides.

Lt Cdr Paula Bennett-Smith  the Assistant Director of Rugby for the RNRU Women, said “This was a great fixture to watch. Both teams committed to open rugby and were evenly matched. A well fought game from start to finish! It’s fantastic to achieve a win at the last game of the tour, and the last of the 21/22 season. Many memories have been made this season, and i’m so proud to have been involved in this momentous season!”

Line Up

1. SLt Rebecca Addis
2. LPT Susan Badger
3. AET Lucy Honeybell
4. AET Mel Cummins
5. PO Sam Alderson
6. Lt Olivia Critchley-Peddle
7. ET Elona Bythell
8. LAET Abi Sondack
9. SLt Sophie Tulloch
10. Lt Cheryl Goodwin
11. ET Sian McLaughlin
12. Surg Lt Cdr Emma Maxwell
13. LH Rose Dixon
14. Lt Abi Ashby
15. AET Chloe Sopp

16. LPT Becky Bowskill
17. SC Grace Penn
18. Wtr Daisy Lumsden
19. AB Ellie Bishop